Global science accelerates innovation and development.

Our mission is to partner with institutions of learning, foundations, government and industry, in the United States and abroad to create centers of research in foundational sciences to address global problems and build a culture of science.

Global Science Nodes

Centers of Global Science are where the brightest emerging scholars from all over the world are drawn to be mentored by world-renowned scientists, earn graduate degrees, and gain unparalleled experience that will launch their scientific careers.

Berkeley Emerging Research Scholars (BERS)

BERS is a global approach to science that reaches scholars from the US and abroad during their high school, undergraduate, and graduate studies. It is a program that breaks down barriers and transcends traditional boundaries.

Global Science Schools and Workshops

The Berkeley Global Science Institute regularly organizes and hosts international symposia, workshops, and schools in order to provide educational and professional development as well as to grow the global science network.

Leadership and Administration

Prof. Omar M. Yaghi

James and Neeltje Tretter Chair
Professor of Chemistry
602 Latimer Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720

Prof. Peidong Yang

S.K. and Angela Chan Distinguished Professor of Energy; 
Professor of Chemistry
239 Hildebrand Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720

Prof. Douglas S. Clark
Chair of Advisory Board
College of Chemistry Dean

Gilbert Newton Lewis Professor of Chemistry
497 Tan Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720

Kyle E. Cordova
Associate Director

Research Associate
BG6 Giauque Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720

Karen Wong
Operations Manager

631 Latimer Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720
Ph: 510-642-6553

The Berkeley Global Science Institute is supported by and housed in the College of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley.

Yaghi and Yang Laboratories

Visit the Yaghi Laboratory and the Yang Laboratory websites for more information regarding specific, relevant research programs and activities.